Sci-Fi Storm

Archive for August 23rd, 2015

2015 Hugos conclude with 5 “No Award” results

by on Aug.23, 2015, under Awards, Conventions

The 2015 Hugo Awards, given at this weekend’s World Science Fiction Convention in Seattle at Sasquan, saw controversy even before the nominations were out, with the group “Sad Puppies” attempting to influence the nomination and voting process to correct what they perceived as the infiltration of the genre by women and minorities, where it was formerly “ruled” by white males. Sounds like the same mentality that led to Gamergate…but in the end, the Sad Puppies lost out, and may have resulted in perhaps deserving winners winding up as collateral damage due to the Puppies support. 5 categories – Best Novella, Best Short Story, Best Related Work, Best Editor, Short Form, and Best Editor, Long Form all resulted in “No Award” winning, with four others having No Award in second place, as well as the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer also coming in second. In fact, in the cases where “No Award” won, it did so by a far margin on the first pass of ballot. This seems to be a resounding defeat of the Sad Puppies movement.

The winners that did come away with a rocketship:

Best Novel: [asin=0765377063]The Three Body Problem[/asin], Cixin Liu, Ken Liu translator

Best Novelette: The Day the World Turned Upside Down, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Lia Belt translator

Best Graphic Story: [asin=0785198288]Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal[/asin], written by G. Willow Wilson, illustrated by Adrian Alphona and Jake Wyatt

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Guardians of the Galaxy, written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman, directed by James Gunn

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Orphan Black: “By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried”, ” written by Graham Manson, directed by John Fawcett

Best Professional Artist: Julie Dillon

Best Semiprozine: Lightspeed Magazine, edited by John Joseph Adams, Stefan Rudnicki, Rich Horton, Wendy N. Wagner, and Christie Yant

Best Fanzine: Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, Colin Harris, Alissa McKersie, and Helen J. Montgomery

Best Fancast: Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch (Producer)

Best Fan Writer: Laura J. Mixon

Best Fan Artist: Elizabeth Leggett

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer: Wesley Chu

Comments Off on 2015 Hugos conclude with 5 “No Award” results : more...

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!